Michael Thomson appointed Convenor of NZ Architecture Awards

Founding Principal Michael Thomson has been selected as Convenor of the 2020 Te Kāhui Whaihanga NZIA New Zealand National Architecture Awards.

We are honoured that Michael has been asked to undertake this role especially since this is the second time one of the founding Principals of Architectus has been selected as a Convenor for the National Awards following Patrick Clifford in 2005/6.

Michael says, “It is a privilege to be the of Convenor of the National Awards. We have completed our shortlisting process and are looking forward to the visiting the finalists. For most of this year that has looked an unlikely possibility but thankfully the combined efforts of New Zealanders in combatting Covid have allowed us the opportunity to carry out the judging process as it should be, by actually visiting the projects and experiencing them.” 

Michael is joined by Fiona Short, Lynda Simmons and international juror, Anthony Hoete to form the jury.